Header Ads

China a country with different countries

The people republic of China, Taiwan (republic of China), Macau and Hong Kong. These are four names that always conflicts sometimes. Don't be confused, as am about to unravel the things you might not know about them.

China, officially the People's Republic of China (PRC), is a country in East Asia and the world's most populous country, with a population of around 1.404 billion. Covering approximately 9,600,000 square kilometers (3,700,000 sq mi), it is the third- or fourth-largest country by total area, depending on the source consulted. Governed by the Communist Party of China, the state exercises jurisdiction over 22 provinces, five autonomous regions, four direct-controlled municipalities (BeijingTianjinShanghai, and Chongqing), and the special administrative regions of Hong Kong and Macau.


Official languages - Standard Chinese and Formosan. Currency - New Taiwan Dollar.Taiwan(Republic of China) is a self-governing state, which sees itself as a country. But that status is unacceptable to China. Over the years China have made other countries not to have diplomatic ties with Taiwan. This made Taiwan  the most populous state and largest economy that is not a member of the United Nations.


Official languages - Chinese and Portuguese 
Currency - Macanese pataca
Macau was formerly a colony of the Portuguese Empire, after Ming China leased the territory as a trading post in 1557. Originally governing under Chinese authority and sovereignty, Portugal was given perpetual occupation rights for Macau in 1887. Macau remained under Portuguese control until 1999, when it was returned to China. As a special administrative region, Macau maintains a separate political and economic system apart from mainland China.[5] The People's Republic of China's obligation to run Macau as a special administrative region per the Joint Declaration on the Question of Macau expires on 20 December 2049.


Official languages - Chinese and English 
Currency - Hong Kong dollar.

Hong Kong was formerly a colony of the British Empire, after Qing China ceded Hong Kong Island at the conclusion of the First Opium War in 1842. The colony expanded to the Kowloon Peninsula in 1860 after the Second Opium War and was further extended when Britain obtained a 99-year lease of the New Territories in 1898. The entire territory was returned to China when this lease expired in 1997. As a special administrative region, Hong Kong's system of government is separate from that in mainland China.

Source: Google 

No comments

Powered by Blogger.